Advising Honors & Awards

University of Minnesota Advising Awards

John Tate Award

The John Tate Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising recognizes and rewards high-quality academic advising and celebrates the role advising plays in the University's educational mission. Nominations are due in early January.

Academic Advising Network Awards

The Academic Advising Network (AAN) awards are designed to honor advising staff making significant contributions to improvement in all areas of academic advising at the University of Minnesota. Nominations are usually due in late January or early February.

UMTC Advising Framework Spotlight

The Advising Framework Spotlight recognition program honors advisors who exemplify elements of the UMTC Advising Framework. Nominations are due quarterly, typically in mid March, June, September, and December.

Other Association Awards

Many professional associations offer awards that may be appropriate for UMTC advisors and staff.

NACADA National Awards

The National NACADA Awards are designed to honor individuals and institutions making significant contributions to the improvement of academic advising within higher education. Nominations are due in early January.

NACADA Regional Awards

The NACADA Region 6 awards/scholarships/grants programs are designed to support student success by providing opportunities for recognition and professional development opportunities for academic advisors, administrators, and graduate students. Nominations are usually due in the fall.

Additional University of Minnesota Awards

Josie Johnson Human Rights Award

The Josie R. Johnson Award was established in honor of Dr. Josie R. Johnson in recognition of her lifelong contributions to human rights and social justice, which guided her work with the civil rights movement, years of community service, and tenure at the University of Minnesota. The award honors University of Minnesota faculty, staff, and students who, through their principles and practices, exemplify Dr. Johnson’s standard of excellence in creating respectful and inclusive living, learning, and working environments. Learn more about past award recipients. Nominations are usually due in March.

Outstanding Unit Award for Equity and Diversity

The Office for Equity and Diversity (OED) presents an annual Outstanding Unit Award for Equity and Diversity to a University of Minnesota campus, college, department, or unit. The award is presented at the Equity and Diversity Breakfast each November and honors transformational equity and diversity work that both demonstrates outstanding leadership in equity and diversity and is collaborative, sustainable, and linked to the stated mission and vision of the group. Nominations are usually due in February.

Outstanding Community Service Award

The Outstanding Community Service Award recognizes exceptional community service that makes an enduring contribution to the external community and improves public life and the well-being of society. All University of Minnesota faculty and staff are eligible for this annual award, which is administered by the Office for Public Engagement. Nominations are usually due in November.

President's Award for Outstanding Service

The President's Award for Outstanding Service recognizes faculty and staff (current or retired) who have provided exceptional service to the University, its schools, colleges, departments, and service units. Such service must have gone well beyond the regular duties of a faculty or staff member, and demonstrate an unusual commitment to the University community. Nominations are usually due in March.